AI agent profile

Microsoft Copilot Cowork: facts from dated sources

Source dated

Maker
Not reported
Launched
Not reported
Access
Not recorded
Our coverage
Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP) — Reported only at launch.

Facts from dated sources

Each fact links to the page it comes from, with the date it applies to. Official source = a first-party page; Reported by <site> = a third-party page.

Pricing(7)

  • Copilot Cowork is available through usage-based billing, so it scales with the work you delegate.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Cowork requires a Microsoft Copilot customer account and admin enablement

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • $32.00 user/month, paid yearly (annual subscription, auto-renews)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • $23.50 user/month, paid yearly (annual subscription, auto-renews)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on): Listed $21.00, currently $18.00 user/month, paid yearly

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Cowork/Autopilot access included with Copilot business plans, billed usage-based

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • After your one-month free trial ends, your subscription will automatically convert to a paid subscription and you’ll be charged the applicable subscription fee

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Regions(10)

  • Not stated as a country list; access limited to regions Anthropic supports

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Anthropic model access restriction is the governing constraint

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Web browser (desktop), copilot.cloud.microsoft

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Microsoft Copilot desktop app for Windows and macOS

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Microsoft Copilot mobile app, iOS and Android (iPhone, iPad, Galaxy)

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Support page gives m365.cloud.microsoft as the browser entry point

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Personal and work/school accounts, similar features

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Preview for personal accounts

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Generally available for work or school accounts

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Requires personal Microsoft account with eligible Microsoft 365 subscription

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Actions(16)

  • For browser-based tasks, Cowork interacts with websites in a human like way, such as clicking, scrolling, and typing. You might be able to observe the task as it runs, stop it at any time, or take control when required.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Cowork supports plugins from the Microsoft 365 App Store that add new skills and connectors. Plugins can give Cowork specialized expertise—such as financial analysis or legal research—or connect it to external data sources and services.

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Built-in skills named: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF, Email, Scheduling, Calendar Management, Meetings, Daily Briefing, Enterprise Search, Communications, Deep Research, Adaptive Cards, App (Frontier)

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Named Microsoft integrations: Outlook, Teams, Calendar, OneDrive, SharePoint, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF output

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Can draft, reply, forward, and send email; also create and send HTML newsletters; sort/delete inbox mail

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Schedules meetings, adds attendees, moves events, declines conflicts with a message to organizer

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Creates Word/Excel/PowerPoint/PDF files and edits existing Office files in OneDrive and SharePoint

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Runs prompts on a schedule and event-driven tasks triggered by email or Teams message

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Pauses for go-ahead before important actions such as sending email or scheduling; risk indicator for medium/high risk; action-labeled button; Cancel option; can skip future prompts for similar actions

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Approval prompt includes a dropdown to skip future prompts for similar actions and a Cancel button to stop the action

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Vendor states Copilot asks for approval or hands control back to the user for sensitive actions, and user is responsible for actions taken

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Vendor warns Copilot may misinterpret instructions or be deceived by hidden instructions; monitor tasks involving payments, personal info, communications, account/file changes

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Maximum of 50 custom skills per user

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Personal accounts: Preview, requires eligible Microsoft 365 subscription; work/school: generally available, requires Copilot license plus Cowork and billing enabled

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Teams posting, org-wide search and SharePoint file work are described only for work or school accounts

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Runs in browser at copilot.cloud.microsoft, Windows/macOS Copilot desktop app, and iPhone/Android Copilot mobile app

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

Terms changes(13)

  • Prohibits using bots or scrapers to access Copilot; personal use only

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • Code of Conduct bars bots/scrapers, technical attacks, excess usage, prompt manipulation, jailbreaking

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • Defines automated actions taken on user's behalf as Tasks

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • User solely responsible for actions Copilot takes on their behalf

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • Purchases via Copilot fulfilled by third-party Merchant under Merchant's own terms; Microsoft does not process payments

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • User must comply with Merchant terms for purchases made through Copilot

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • These consumer terms do not apply to work/school/Entra accounts

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • Copilot Supplemental Terms updated with effective date August 18, 2026 (in window)

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • We’ve updated these Terms to apply to the Microsoft Copilot app for web, desktop, and mobile, and to Copilot Chat in Microsoft 365 apps.

    Official source Source as of 2026-08-18

  • Cowork billed usage-based, scaling with work delegated

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Available to Microsoft Copilot customers with usage-based billing; admin-enabled in M365 admin center; launched from Copilot app web/desktop/mobile

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Sensitive steps pause for user approval before execution

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Plugins extend Cowork to partner tools and customer systems

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Frequently asked

What do the pricing pages say about Microsoft Copilot Cowork? (1)

Copilot Cowork is available through usage-based billing, so it scales with the work you delegate.

What do the pricing pages say about Microsoft Copilot Cowork? (2)

Cowork requires a Microsoft Copilot customer account and admin enablement

What do the pricing pages say about Microsoft Copilot Cowork? (3)

$32.00 user/month, paid yearly (annual subscription, auto-renews)

Has Microsoft Copilot Cowork been tested first-hand by aiagentcomparisons.com?

Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP). Reported only at launch.