AI agent profile · by Anthropic

Claude (formerly Claude Cowork): facts from dated sources

Source dated

Anthropic's support article says Cowork is being merged into the Claude chat experience, rolling out gradually to Pro and Max plans and in beta for Enterprise.

Maker
Anthropic
Launched
Not reported
Access
paid
Pricing
Agent features (formerly Claude Cowork) need a paid plan: Pro USD 20/month or Max from USD 100/month; Team and Enterprise plans also include them.
Our coverage
Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP) — Reported only at launch.

Facts from dated sources

Each fact links to the page it comes from, with the date it applies to. Official source = a first-party page; Reported by <site> = a third-party page.

Pricing(24)

  • Free — $0

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • No — Cowork is paid-plans only

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • USD 20 per month (billed monthly)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • USD 200 billed up front per year (shown as $17/month)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Included

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Max 5x USD 100/month; Max 20x USD 200/month; monthly billing only ('From $100' on pricing page)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Monthly only (no annual option listed for Max)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Included on both Max tiers

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • USD 100/month (Max 5x) and USD 200/month (Max 20x) in API credits

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • USD 20/seat/month billed annually; USD 25 if billed monthly

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • USD 100/seat/month billed annually; USD 125 if billed monthly

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork on both standard and premium seats

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Up to USD 500/month in pooled API credits

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • US$20/seat/month billed annually, 20-seat minimum, plus usage at API rates

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Included; admin controls and analytics

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Trials listed as available only for sales-assisted Enterprise

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Session limit resetting every 5 hours plus a weekly limit; numeric caps not published

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Max 5x = 5x Pro per-session allowance; Max 20x = 20x Pro; session limit resets every 5 hours plus a weekly limit across all models

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Standard seats 1.25x Pro per-session allowance; Premium seats 6.25x Pro; weekly limits across all models, per member

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork consumes plan limits faster than Chat; no separate Cowork credit allotment published

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Usage credits (pay-as-you-go) available on Pro, Max 5x, Max 20x to continue past included limits; Team/Enterprise orgs can enable usage credits

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Agentic/Cowork features unlock on any paid plan: Cowork on desktop (macOS, Windows) for all paid plans; on web/mobile for Pro, Max, Team (Enterprise where admin enables); Claude in Chrome side panel on Max and Team, rolling out to Pro

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Computer use is a research preview for Cowork and Claude Code; no plan restriction stated on the product page

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork is being merged into Claude chat experience, rolling out gradually to Pro and Max, beta for Enterprise

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

Regions(10)

  • Not stated on support.claude.com/en/articles/13345190-get-started-with-claude-cowork as of 2026-10-19

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Claude Desktop for macOS — available on all paid plans (Pro, Max, Team, Enterprise)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Claude Desktop for Windows — available on all paid plans; requires latest version of Claude for Windows

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Web at claude.ai — Pro, Max, Team; Enterprise where an admin has enabled it; web described as rolling out (beta)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Official product page: Cowork 'Works with a paid plan. Rolling out on web, mobile (beta).'

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Claude Mobile — Pro, Max, Team in latest versions of Claude for iOS and Claude for Android; Enterprise where an admin has enabled it

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Claude in Chrome side panel — Max and Team plans, rolling out to Pro; Enterprise where admin enabled

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Built-in browser in the Cowork desktop app — Pro, Max, and Team plans; Enterprise admins manage it in Org settings

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • January 2026 launch was a 'research preview' limited to Max subscribers, in the updated Claude Desktop macOS app (independent report)

    Reported by simonwillison.net Source as of: not stated (checked 2026-10-19)

  • Not stated on support.claude.com/en/articles/13345190-get-started-with-claude-cowork as of 2026-10-19

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

Actions(28)

  • Tasks run on Anthropic's servers in an isolated temporary cloud environment; local file/browser/app access is reached through the Claude Desktop app

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Per-session isolated environment on Anthropic servers; cannot reach home or company network; removed when session ends

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Plan, subtasks, code/shell execution in isolated env, parallel workstreams, deliverables returned to session

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Anthropic ships its own browser inside the Cowork desktop app, separate from the user's browser/logins/tabs; no install needed

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Default is the built-in desktop browser; users of Claude in Chrome can have Claude work in their own browser; browser choice is a setting

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Sign in once per session inside the built-in browser, or import cookies from the user's browser

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Web actions named: open sites, read pages, click, type, fill forms

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Computer use lets Claude drive the screen (open apps, navigate browser, run tools); research preview; connectors preferred, browser second, screen last

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Read/edit/create files in chosen folders; produce xlsx, pptx, docs, charts; delete requires explicit approval

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • The Slack connector is included in Team plan standard and premium seats. The product page's example report names the Amplitude and Microsoft 365 connectors.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • You control which connectors Claude can use, via the "+" menu in the chat box or the Customize > Connectors page.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • The connector directory lists Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Slack and Linear, each marked "Anthropic verified".

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Three permission modes (Manual / Auto / Skip) crossed with connector tool permissions (Always allow / Needs approval / Blocked); new unified experience offers Auto and Manual (default)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Manual mode pauses and asks Allow/Deny per action

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Admins can disable auto-approve and/or require per-task approval for write-capable connector tools

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Permanent file deletion always needs your explicit "Allow", in any mode.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • In Automatically-approve mode Claude screens each action and blocks ones it judges unsafe

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • No documented hard-coded purchase/send confirmation gate found; Anthropic instead tells users to switch to Manual approval for sends and purchases. Purchases/sends are treated as user-responsibility actions

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • User remains responsible for messages sent, purchases/financial transactions, and data changes, and for third-party site terms

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Computer use asks permission before accessing each application

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • No session sharing; some features desktop-only (pre-Aug 19, 2026 live artifacts, plugins with local MCP servers)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cloud session reaches the computer only while the Desktop app is open, only for connected folders, and only under preset permissions

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Computer use has no sandbox between Claude and the screen; screenshots are taken; blocked apps can be configured

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Anthropic advises against using either browser for sensitive info and to limit web access to trusted sites

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Scheduled tasks should avoid sensitive files, sending messages, and making purchases

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Only refusal behavior documented is model training to refuse malicious/injection instructions; no published list of refused consumer actions

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork is available on paid plans only (Pro, Max, Team, Enterprise). Availability varies by surface; see claude-cowork-regions-02 to -07.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork is being folded into Claude; Chat/Cowork tabs merged; enterprise beta toggle 'Chat and Cowork unified (beta)'

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

Terms changes(15)

  • Anthropic 2026 Usage Policy (Acceptable Use Policy) effective date is 2026-11-12

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Anthropic published the 2026 Usage Policy update announcement on 2026-10-08 and says it takes effect 2026-11-12

    Official source Source as of: not stated (checked 2026-10-19)

  • Update adds a consolidated deceptive-activity section, refocuses elections section, clarifies weapons prohibitions, rewrites surveillance/criminal-justice language, restates high-risk use-case requirements (human in the loop), adds a prohibition on sustained abuse toward models, and clarifies Supported Regions enforcement. The updated policy takes effect on November 12, 2026.

    Official source Source as of: not stated (checked 2026-10-19)

  • AUP prohibits bypassing security controls without authorization (authentication systems, endpoint protection, monitoring tools) under 'Do Not Compromise Computer or Network Systems Without Authorization'. No CAPTCHA- or bot-check-specific wording appears in the retrieved portions.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Users are responsible for their agents' actions through tools, browsers, or connected systems

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Agentic use cases must comply with the Usage Policy (listed under Additional Use Case Guidelines)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Official docs state Cowork can operate websites (open, read, click, type, fill forms)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork availability is limited to paid plans (Pro, Max, Team, Enterprise); no separate price is stated in this doc

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Official docs flag agentic/internet-access risk and state Cowork respects network egress permissions (web fetch and web search tools/MCPs excepted)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Cowork sessions run in the cloud on Anthropic servers, in beta on Team and Enterprise plans

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Chat and Cowork now share one interface; 'Claude Cowork is now just Claude' with gradual rollout to Pro and Max and beta for Enterprise ('Chat and Cowork unified (beta)'). Date not stated on the page.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Doc references local desktop sessions started on the computer before October 6, 2026 (cloud sessions replaced/supplemented them)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Doc references live artifacts created before August 19, 2026 as desktop-only

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • As of 2026-10-19 the help article (header "Updated this week") said the built-in browser "is rolling out gradually this week". No rollout date given; do not present as current rollout status.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-19

  • Independent report of the chat+Cowork front-end merge, released first to Pro and Max subscribers

    Reported by techcrunch.com Source as of: not stated (checked 2026-10-19)

Compare Claude (formerly Claude Cowork)

Frequently asked

Is Claude (formerly Claude Cowork) free?

Agent features (formerly Claude Cowork) need a paid plan: Pro USD 20/month or Max from USD 100/month; Team and Enterprise plans also include them.

What do the pricing pages say about Claude (formerly Claude Cowork)? (1)

Free — $0

What do the pricing pages say about Claude (formerly Claude Cowork)? (2)

No — Cowork is paid-plans only

What do the pricing pages say about Claude (formerly Claude Cowork)? (3)

USD 20 per month (billed monthly)

Has Claude (formerly Claude Cowork) been tested first-hand by aiagentcomparisons.com?

Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP). Reported only at launch.

Sources