AI agent profile · by OpenAI

ChatGPT agent: facts from dated sources

Source dated

Retired: OpenAI points to ChatGPT Work and cloud browser.

Maker
OpenAI
Launched
Not reported
Access
Not recorded
Our coverage
Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP) — Reported only at launch.

Facts from dated sources

Each fact links to the page it comes from, with the date it applies to. Official source = a first-party page; Reported by <site> = a third-party page.

Regions(1)

  • ChatGPT agent is no longer available. Use ChatGPT Work for longer, multi-step tasks and finished deliverables. For supported browser workflows, see Using cloud browser in ChatGPT

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Actions(1)

  • ChatGPT agent is discontinued; OpenAI redirects users to ChatGPT Work and cloud browser

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

History (no longer current) (26)

Regions

  • Previously: Pro, Plus, Business, Enterprise, Edu; available in all OpenAI-supported countries and territories; no Free plan

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Paid plans only

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: All OpenAI-supported countries and territories (the full list lives in a separate Help Center article, not restated here)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Help Center states agent mode is available for enterprises worldwide including EU data residency

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: ChatGPT web, iOS/Android mobile, macOS/Windows desktop apps

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Not stated on help.openai.com/en/articles/11752874-chatgpt-agent as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Launch on 2025-07-17 to Pro, Plus, Team via tools dropdown / 'agent mode'

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Not stated on openai.com/index/introducing-chatgpt-agent as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

Actions

  • Previously: Runs on its own virtual computer with a screenshot-driven visual browser

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Visual browser + text-based browser + terminal + direct API access

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Interacts via screenshots of the virtual browser window

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Connectors include Gmail and GitHub

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Clicks, types, fills forms, navigates sites

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: plan and book travel itineraries, design and book entire dinner parties, or find specialists and schedule appointments

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: 'plan and buy ingredients' given as a sample request

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: these connectors allow ChatGPT to see information and do things like summarize your inbox for the day or find time slots you’re available for a meeting—to take action on these sites, however, you’ll still be prompted to log in by taking over the browser

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Explicit permission required before consequential actions

    Official source Source as of 2025-07-17

  • Previously: Four named safeguards: confirmations, refusal patterns, prompt-injection monitoring, watch mode

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Pauses and prompts user to take over the virtual browser for logins; screenshots not captured while user controls it

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: “To maintain security, safety, and compliance, ChatGPT agent may not be able to visit certain websites. This blocklist applies across both the virtual browser and apps.”

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20 Live wording updated

  • Previously: Workspace owners can request (via their OpenAI account team or OpenAI Support) a blocklist of exact domains or whole domains including subdomains.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Monthly message caps by plan

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Paid plans only, Pro/Plus/Business/Enterprise/Edu (Help Center), Pro/Plus/Team at launch (blog)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Cannot read data from apps with sync, e.g. Google Drive

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Web, mobile iOS/Android, desktop macOS/Windows

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Previously: Operator folded into agent mode; Operator site gone

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Compare ChatGPT agent

Frequently asked

Has ChatGPT agent been tested first-hand by aiagentcomparisons.com?

Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP). Reported only at launch.