OpenAI Dots vs Perplexity Computer

Last checked

Facts from dated sources, side by side

Each fact links to the page it comes from, with the date it applies to. Official source = a first-party page; Reported by <site> = a third-party page.

OpenAI Dots

Compare(12)

  • Included at no extra cost with ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium; no standalone dollar price stated on the announcement page

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • No free tier documented; rollout limited to paid plans

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • ChatGPT desktop, web, mobile (message or voice call); Slack and Teams; texting announced as coming

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Slack and Teams supported; SMS texting coming soon

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Own cloud computer plus own browser plus connected apps (browser and connectors)

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Plugin ecosystem claimed to reach over 4,000 apps

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Built-in rules decide independent action vs approval; user Custom Rules can allow, require approval, or block actions

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Some sensitive actions always remain with the user

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Proactive background research restricted to read-only tools

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Eligible markets only; no country list on the announcement page

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Plan includes an allowance for deeper work with extended first-month limits; dot conversations excluded from ChatGPT usage limits

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

  • Dot conversations do not count toward ChatGPT usage limits; Codex/ChatGPT Work tasks do

    Official source Source as of 2026-09-29

Perplexity Computer

Compare(10)

  • Available to Perplexity Max subscribers; no dollar price on the launch post

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Not stated on perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-computer as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Cloud-hosted; described as universally accessible without localized setup; no OS/app list stated

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Isolated compute environment with real filesystem, real browser, and tool integrations; sub-agents orchestrated

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Sub-agents call connected services via API and run web research

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • It can find API keys, research supplemental information, code apps if necessary, and check in if it truly needs you.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Multiple Computers can run in parallel

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Workflows described as running hours to months

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Multi-model orchestration; launch post names Opus 4.6 as core reasoning engine plus Gemini, Nano Banana, Veo 3.1, Grok, ChatGPT 5.2

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Not stated on perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-computer as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Coverage: OpenAI Dots: Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP). Perplexity Computer: Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP).