Claude Code vs OpenClaw

Last checked

Facts from dated sources, side by side

Each fact links to the page it comes from, with the date it applies to. Official source = a first-party page; Reported by <site> = a third-party page.

Claude Code

Compare(5)

  • Included in Pro ($17/mo billed annually at $200 up front, or $20 monthly) and Max (from $100/mo); also included in Team and Enterprise seats

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • No free tier: Claude Code marked 'No' on the Free plan

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Not stated on claude.com/pricing as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • US-only inference offered for workloads that must run in the US, at 1.1x input/output pricing (stated for the Claude API/platform)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Usage limits apply to plans; page links to Anthropic's usage-limit policy. No numeric cap stated on this page

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

OpenClaw

Compare(8)

  • Not stated on docs.openclaw.ai as of 2026-10-20

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • No paid tier; free to self-host (MIT licensed). Model usage billed by the chosen provider, per page

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • macOS / Linux / WSL2 ... Windows (PowerShell)

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Acts through chat-app channels plus a dedicated agent browser; self-hosted gateway bridges messaging apps to AI coding agents

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Documented browser capability: a dedicated browser the agent can use, via the browser setup guide

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Discord, Google Chat, iMessage, Matrix, Microsoft Teams, Signal, Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Zalo, plus plugin channels

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • If you want to lock it down, start with channels.whatsapp.allowFrom and (for groups) mention rules.

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

  • Runtime requirement Node 26 recommended (or Node 24.16+/26.1+), plus an API key from a chosen model provider

    Official source Source as of 2026-10-20

Coverage: Claude Code: Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP). OpenClaw: Reported only (no first-hand tests in the MVP).